JR Swift’s Blog

What I’m Thinking About Today

NCAA = No Clue At All

Posted by jrswift on March 17, 2007

This is why I don’t like playing these bracket games.  I really have no idea who is going to win these “close” games and, frankly, neither does anybody else.  Hey, guess what?  No 12th seed beat a 5th seed this year.  I don’t remember the last time that happened.  Two 11 seeds won and I actually predicted one of the them (VCU over Duke) but missed badly on the other, predicting Notre Dame to get to the Elite 8 while people smarter than I went ahead and took the Winthrop upset.  As to my true brilliance, I managed to pick the wrong team in every single 8-9 matchup.  That takes some kind of skill.  On a positive note, I still have all four of my final four teams left but so does everyone else.  I think that this relatively upset-free first round may portend a pretty crazy weekend.  We are probably closer to having the top 32 teams actually playing over the next few days and that likely means the “upset round” could be this one instead of the last one.  We’ll see if I’m right.  Based on my “luck” so far, I’d go ahead and bet against it.  I have trouble seeing any of the 1 seeds losing and the 2 seeds look pretty safe as well but the 3 seeds might be an interesting story.  Pitt and Oregon both play 11 seeds but neither impressed me much in the first round and I wouldn’t be surprised if they went down.  I’ll stick with my Louisville (mostly at home) beating A&M pick and it wouldn’t suprised me if Vanderbilt took out Washington St.  Again, my distaste for the 3 seeds should make you go out and bet large amounts of cash on them.  That’s all I’ve got today.  Go watch some basketball.

Leave a Reply

 
