JR Swift’s Blog

What I’m Thinking About Today

A few thoughts…

Posted by jrswift on June 25, 2007

Has been quite a while since my last blog (sounds like I’m going to Confession) so I thought I’d write something on here.  I really need to be motivated by something in particular to start writing and, when I do, I can really waste a lot of keystrokes.  So it’s summer and that means it’s hot.  I really don’t complain because I’m consistent in hating the cold and I’ll take the heat any day.  I think the best part about summer is the long, long days.  Right now it’s 8:30 and it is still light outside.  I love that.

I love that, but apparently not enough to waste many keystrokes on it.  Sometimes writing a blog is liking having a conversation with someone you don’t really know or like very well.  You don’t have anything to say so you just talk about the weather.  I’ve decided that I’m not a very good writer.  I use the word “really” all the time.  Really, I do.  I have to fight against using it in every other sentence.  I also use the word “I” too much.  I do, trust me.  I’m also quite undisciplined.  I like to make up my own punctuation style and, face it, I’m no e.e. cummings so it isn’t like I’ve advanced so far that that makes much sense.

That paragraph reminds me of art.  No…I don’t have a friend named Art.  I’m talking about art as in artistic expression.  I actually like art.  I’ve visited a few galleries in my day and I find it fascinating.  I don’t know much about it but I enjoy it.  You know the thing you never really get from art when you see a painting on TV or something is that art, all art, is three-dimensional.  You haven’t really (whoops, I did it again) seen a painting until you’ve seen the brushstrokes.  God…that sounds pretensious.  Too bad.  I also like abstract art.  Yeah…the stuff that just looks like paint splattered on a canvas.  Jackson Pollack.  I like him.  But my favorite artist ever is Robert Rauschenberg.  It isn’t quite abstract expressionism.  Oh well…it’s close.  And he spent some time in Kansas City so he’s almost local.

Speaking of local, here’s a little trick to try if you want to know where the real center of the Earth is.  Go to Google Earth.  If you don’t have it, get it.  It’s pretty cool.  Now…when the application opens up, just zoom in.  Don’t move anything or search for anything.  Just start to zoom in and keep zooming in.  If you do, you’ll end up in the parking lot of an apartment complex in Lawrence, Kansas.  Yeah…that’s where I live.  (Well, not that apartment complex.  Just Lawrence.)    OK…one of the main Google developers who worked on Google Earth went to school here and lived there but it is still pretty cool.

There are really only three options for this blog at this juncture.  I can more or less abandon it as I have over the past couple of months.  I can go off on my various political rants and raves but I’m not sure if that will be good for my sanity and I’m likely to alienate a lot of people.  Or I can spend some time talking about computers and my interest in alternative operating systems.  I’m leaning towards the last of three and, while there are plenty of people out there blogging about linux/unix, I imagine there could be room for one more.

So there we go.  That will wrap up tonight’s presentation but you might actually check back in a few days and see what I have to say…or maybe you won’t.  It’s up to you.  Until then, be well.

JR

Leave a Reply

 
