JR Swift’s Blog

What I’m Thinking About Today

Random Thoughts

Posted by jrswift on July 11, 2007

I’m thinking of writing a book. Seriously. I know what it will be about and the title and I’ve even kind of outlined the chapters. Now this isn’t the “best seller” type of book and so I’m thinking about “publishing” it in a very curious way. If you’re intrigued, you should stay tuned. More on this later.

I don’t know if any of you are superstitious but last Saturday something pretty remarkable happened. At the NASCAR race in Daytona, FL, the number 7 car driven by Carl Edwards finished the race 7th after leading the most laps. That wouldn’t be all that interesting except that Saturday was 07/07/07. A little weird, huh?

Watched a very good film the other night: The Pursuit of Happyness. If you haven’t seen it, you should. As my mom might say, “It’s a true story.” Of course, they took a few liberties but this is one of those “feel good” stories even a crusty old cynic can love.

I got evaluated at work today. It was a very good evaluation. Actually I thought it was too good. I would have graded myself lower in a whole bunch of areas. Oddly enough, I find it much easier to accept criticism than praise. I’m an odd bird.

I “stumbled on” a neat little web site today. Not a big deal. I do that pretty frequently. The “big deal” is that I now have an mp3 file of the intro to the A Team. Still think this is the best TV Theme ever. I’ve listened to it about 20 times…and you think you’ve got issues.

So it turns out dark chocolate is good for you. This is good news. I’ve been picking the Special Dark’s out of those Hershey Miniature bags for years. The great thing was that nobody else wanted them. I’m afraid now they will. This is bad news.

Going back to the weird date thing, Friday wraps up a pretty remarkable two weeks in the world of the calendar. On June 30th, at least part of the world experienced the elusive “Blue Moon” which simply means two full moons in one month. It also appeared to be the largest moon because it appeared lowest on the horizon. The following day was one of only two “multiple dates” in 2007. What that means is that it was 07/01/07 and 7×1=7. That was followed the following Saturday by the previously mentioned 07/07/07. Today is 07/11…always the luckiest day of the year and Friday will be Friday the 13th, the second one in the last 4 months. So there you go.

(By the way, my birthweight was 7 pounds, 11 ounces. I guess I’ve always been a bit of a roll of the dice.)

Enough mindless rambling (no, I’m not drunk) so I’ll stop for now. More later…or so I always promise.

JR

Leave a Reply

 
