JR Swift’s Blog

What I’m Thinking About Today

Top 10 Guilty Pleasures

Posted by jrswift on August 10, 2008

So this idea just popped into my head. Thought I’d think about all the things I like that I probably shouldn’t. I guess I’ll make it into a Top 10 because, frankly, I’ve got about a hundred guilty pleasures that I could throw in here.

1. Cheap Beer – So this is kind of a new one. In the last year or two, I’ve become a guy who drinks beer. I used to go for the cocktail thing but, lately, I’ve leaned towards the suds. And I’m far from a “beer snob” as I’ve discovered I’ll pretty much drink anything. I usually stick to something slightly classy (if you call Budweiser classy) when I go out but pretty much anything goes when I pick something up for my home consumption. Been picking up 12-packs of “the Beast” lately at the local grocery store and it pretty much does the job. Let’s be honest. I’m just looking for a cool beverage and a little buzz and if I can do it for 25 cents a can, all the better.

2. Bad Girls – Yeah, this one is probably pretty common but that doesn’t make it right. Give me a girl who’s made a sex tape or gone to jail or rehab and I’m probably going to think she’s hot. Paris, Britney, Lindsey…got to love ’em all. I’ve become rather obsessed with Kim Kardashian lately and she’s obviously not a “nun in training.” I have to say that I find “nice girls” pretty uninteresting, even if they have plenty of wonderful personal qualities. Probably why I’m still single.

3. Frozen Pizza – I have to confess that I eat frozen pizza at least 3 times a week and I have for many years. Partly it is because I am terribly lazy and all I have to do is throw it in the oven and enjoy the cheesy goodness 10 or 15 minutes later. But I actually like it. And I’ve eaten them all. I could write a blog just on the many variations of frozen pizza out there (and I might) and the various pros and cons of each. Oh yeah…and it’s cheap. Hmmm…seems to be a trend here.

4. Las Vegas – This one is pretty obvious if you’ve read any of the rest of my blogs but that doesn’t make it any less real. Good Lord…I’ve visited Vegas fifteen times. I don’t even know if I’ve visited my family that many times in the same time frame. I think I’ve figured out that I have slept in the state of Nevada something like 75 nights in the last 10 odd years. And it isn’t like I really do anything all that interesting when I’m there. I really need a hobby.

5. Cooking shows – OK…I can’t really explain this. I’ll pretty much watch any program where people are cooking. I’ve been that way since I was a little kid when I used to watch the French Chef and the Galloping Gourmet. And I don’t really cook. At least not very often. I just find them fascinating and I probably always will.

6. Naps – So I’ve gotten to the point where I can pretty much sleep anywhere or anytime and, when the opportunity presents itself, I do. In fact, I don’t so much sleep normally anymore. I just take a series of naps. It has totally messed up any sort of normal sleep schedule and I can’t recommend that anyone else take up this practice. It is at its worse on the weekends and it makes Monday an even longer day than usual.

7. Abusing my computer – No, I don’t go around striking it with a hammer or subjecting it to any sort of physical abuse. I just can’t leave well enough alone. I’m constantly tweaking settings and reinstalling things and changing operating systems and it just can’t be all that good for the poor thing. I’ll probably get a new system next year and, if this one survives until then, it will have been some sort of miracle.

8. Podcasts – Honestly, I can sit around and listen to people babble on about things for hours and hours, particularly if it something I am interested in. Talk radio is too full of idiots and I mostly want to slap them. But, on the internet, I can pick and choose what I want to listen to and avoid the idiots. So I do. Probably listen to 10-12 hours a week of podcasts and it keeps getting worse.

9. Neglect – I have a remarkable ability (dis-ability) to ignore things. I don’t clean enough. I don’t fix things that break. I even neglect people that I should spend more time with than I do. Then, when I finally do get around to doing what I should have been doing all along, it is always harder and more involved than it needs to be. I really need to work on this one.

10. Making lists – Somehow I feel like I am accomplishing something if I write down a list. See, I’m doing it again. But really, it is just a way to waste time and I’m very good at that. And, worse yet, I often don’t even get around to finishing them. Oh well, at least I finished this one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
