JR Swift’s Blog

What I’m Thinking About Today

Waiting for Godot

Posted by jrswift on November 4, 2008

It isn’t not yet over and some people probably thought it would be.  I’m not sure that I was one of them though it appears the results that things may be a bit tighter than I expected.  Most of the close states are still up for grabs though several sources have now called Georgia for McCain.  I’m not sure if I’m ready to agree with them but it was obviously a state McCain had to win.  While Obama is still in great shape, he has not won a clinching state yet.  There are a number of places where an Obama win would all but wrap it up but those states are still too close to call.  It appears that we are going to have to wait for the raw numbers in most cases and that could mean a late night.  Bob Barr has finally cleared the 100,000 vote mark and continues to lead all the other 3rd party candidates.  I expect that at some point Nader will pass his vote totals but it is interesting just how poorly Nader is doing.  Perhaps this will finally be his swan song.  I just saw a very interesting graphic on TV that shows Obama winning Lynchburg, Virginia.  That may be the closest thing to a clinching number I’ve seen so far for the Democrats.  More in a half hour of so.

Leave a Reply

 
